This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Malik Syed Sydmal 1 month, 1 week ago.

• Author
    Malik Syed
    Sydmal
    Participant

Hello. I’m stuck in an ugly situation. After all the hard work and completing my PLAB exams, I’ve been blockaded at registration as my Internship doesn’t meet the criteria.

Basically, I am a graduate from Budapest, Hungary (EU) in 2012, been working in Ireland past 6 years in Medicine. Currently, working as a Registrar. Looking back to my internship certificate, the weeks add up to 43 week which is insufficient hence rejected. But that’s what all graduates do/ did in Hungary in terms of length of internship :S I don’t know how they’r internship is being accepted or what they did. Is it because they were EU citizens and I’m not?

Instead, they asked for 2 yr post graduate experience (as per GMC criteria, 3 month medicine and 3 month surgery minimum) but I’ve been working in Medicine only since graduation therefore I don’t have surgical experience so that is useless too.

I’m soo lost now, I had big hopes to move to UK and I don’t think its possible now. Any tips/ suggestions/ help would be greatly appreciated.

They said I can apply for provisional registration instead and try to make up by doing FY or LAT. I’m not keen to do FY but LAT I’m not sure what that entails or how long to do it for GMC to accept that into full registration. Is that even worth going in that direction?

Ibreez Ajaz
    Ibreez Ajaz
    Keymaster

Hello, sorry to hear about your situation. Is there any way you can get some surgical rotations from where you are currently working? Also do you mean to say that GMC has said that with provisional registration you can complete a FY1 LAT and then apply for full registration?

Malik Syed
    Sydmal
    Participant

Withdraw application for full registration and consider an application for provisional registration